Review: 2021

STADTARBEIT 2021

VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser

Leaving the trodden path can be a risk – but it can also be rewarded by the opening up of new perspectives: On the very first day of the VIENNA DESIGN WEEK, hordes of visitors and representatives of the media followed Otto Wagner’s Döblinger Steg in the direction of Rampengasse, where the abandoned route of the urban railway with the reseda green railings was open to the public. It is projects such as this temporary High Line Park that demonstrate how, by addressing the constant transformation of our urban and social fabric, social design can prepare the ground for countless new ways of coming together. With their precise architectural (Marlene Lübke-Ahrens / Wolfgang Novotny), therapeutically preventative (Max Scheidl), and digitally democratic (IDRV – Institute of Design Research Vienna) design-based approaches, each of the three interventions of the format Stadtarbeit created a different form of open space in and for the Focus District Brigittenau.

The social design format Stadtarbeit has been part of the VIENNA DESIGN WEEK for many years and is realized with the support of the ExtraVALUE sponsorship program of the Erste Bank and in cooperation with Caritas Wien. In the run-up to the 2021 festival, the VIENNA DESIGN WEEK and Erste Bank issued a call for projects, ideas, and concepts that address resilient neighborhoods and offer design solutions based on social spaces.

The Erste Bank ExtraVALUE Design Award was also awarded for the seventh time. The prize enabled the winners to participate in and, hence, to realize their project during the VIENNA DESIGN WEEK 2021. The three winning projects received an implementation budget as well as prize money totaling € 3,000.

Review: 2021

STADTARBEIT 2021

VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser

Ausgetretene Pfade zu verlassen, kann ein Wagnis sein – wird aber mitunter mit neuen Aussichten belohnt: Schon am Eröffnungstag der VIENNA DESIGN WEEK schritten Besucher*innen und Pressevertreter*innen in Scharen über Otto Wagners Döblinger Steg Richtung Rampengasse, wo mit dem resedagrünen Geländer in erste Linie auch die brachliegende Trasse der ehemaligen Stadtbahn für die Öffentlichkeit geöffnet wurde. Es sind Projekte wie der temporäre High Line Park, die den Beweis erbringen, dass Social Design in der Auseinandersetzung mit den ständigen Veränderungen im urbanen und gesellschaftlichen Gefüge vielgestaltige neue Wege des Miteinanders bereiten kann. Mit präzisen architektonischen (Marlene Lübke-Ahrens / Wolfgang Novotny), therapeutisch-präventiven (Max Scheidl) und digital-demokratischen (IDRV – Institute of Design Research Vienna) gestalterischen Eingriffen schufen alle drei Interventionen des Formates Stadtarbeit ganz unterschiedlich gearteten Freiraum in und für den Fokusbezirk Brigittenau.

Das Social Design-Format Stadtarbeit ist seit vielen Jahren Teil der VIENNA DESIGN WEEK und wird mit Unterstützung des MehrWERT-Sponsoringprogrammes der Erste Bank und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Caritas Wien realisiert. Im Vorfeld des Festivals 2021 riefen VIENNA DESIGN WEEK und Erste Bank dazu auf, Projekte, Ideen und Konzepte einzureichen, die sich mit resilienter Nachbarschaft und sozialraumorientierten Designlösungen befassen. 

Zum siebten Mal wurde auch der Erste Bank MehrWERT-Designpreis verliehen. Der Preis ermöglichte die Teilnahme und damit die Realisierung der von einer Fachjury ausgewählten Interventionen im Rahmen der VIENNA DESIGN WEEK 2021. Für das Festival wurden die drei Gewinner*innenprojekte mit einem Umsetzungsbudget ausgestattet und dort zusätzlich mit Preisgeldern in einer Gesamthöhe von € 3.000 bedacht.