Review: 2021

URBAN FOOD & DESIGN 2021

VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Niko Havranek
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Stefanie Freynschlag
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Stefanie Freynschlag
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig

During the pandemic, shops that serve our everyday needs have become a well-worn phrase. We have become more widely aware than ever of the major impact of such areas as food production, distribution, and consumption on our (urban) co-existence, especially with a view to a climate-friendly future. In 2021, for the fourth time in a row, the VIENNA DESIGN WEEK and the Vienna Business Agency cooperated closely by organizing the format Urban Food & Design, which this time had a special focus on our shopping behavior.

Building upon the Vienna Business Agency's central theme “Let’s Talk Food”, the heart of the format was an interactive exhibition curated by Kathrina Dankl, which built upon the Urban Food & Design challenges of the previous three years. It combined and playfully presented thematic clusters from new sources of food, consumption patterns, and forms of delivery, to the circular economy, and social participation. In this supermarket of ideas, complex solutions shared the shelves with concrete food for thought and proposals for action that were directly aimed at visitors to the exhibition.

The joint Vienna Biennale for Change 2021 project of the Vienna Business Agency and the MAK also stopped in front of the Festival Headquarters on Sachsenplatz for three days and nights in the shape of the nomadic agora studio mobil / think tank station. Under the title EAT LOVE, workshops, talks, livestreams, and other events invited visitors to take an imaginary journey through a different Vienna. Projects involving ecological and socially sustainable solutions related to the food and food spaces of tomorrow played the central role.

Review: 2021

URBAN FOOD & DESIGN

VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Philipp Podesser
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Stefanie Freynschlag
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Maria Noisternig

Mit der Pandemie wurden die Geschäfte des täglichen Bedarfes zum geflügelten Wort. Mehr denn je wurde vielerorts sichtbar, welch maßgeblichen Einfluss Bereiche wie Lebensmittelproduktion, -verteilung und -konsumation auf unser (städtisches) Zusammenleben mit Blick auf eine klimagerechte Zukunft haben. Zum vierten Mal in Folge arbeiteten die VIENNA DESIGN WEEK und die Wirtschaftsagentur Wien 2021 eng zusammen und gestalteten gemeinsam das Format Urban Food & Design, das sich diesmal in besonderer Weise mit unserem Einkaufsverhalten befasste.

Als Erweiterung des Schwerpunktthemas „Let’s talk Lebensmittel“ der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien stand im Zentrum des Formates eine von Kathrina Dankl kuratierte interaktive Ausstellung, die auf den Urban Food & Design Challenges der vergangenen drei Jahre aufbaute: Spielerisch wurden Themencluster von neuen Nahrungsmittelquellen, Konsumgefügen und Darreichungsformen bis zur Kreislaufwirtschaft und der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe miteinander vernetzt und erfahrbar gemacht. Komplexe Lösungsansätze standen in diesem Supermarkt der Ideen neben konkreten Anregungen zum Nachdenken und Handeln, die sich direkt an Besucher*innen richteten. 

Mit der nomadischen Agora studio mobil / think tank station stoppte zudem das gemeinsame Vienna Biennale for Change 2021-Projekt der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien und des MAK drei Tage und Nächte vor der Festivalzentrale am Sachsenplatz. Unter dem Titel EAT LOVE wurde mit Workshops, Talks, Livestreams und anderem mehr zu einer imaginären Reise in ein anderes Wien geladen. Projekte zu ökologischen und sozial nachhaltigen Lösungen rund um die Lebensmittel und Essensräume von morgen spielten dabei die zentrale Rolle.