Review: 2020

VIRTUAL FESTIVAL HEADQUARTERS

Martina Menegon
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Phillip Podesser
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Stefanie Freynschlag
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Patrizia Gapp
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Kramar

VIENNA DESIGN WEEK 2020 opened a portal into another world!

In architecture, portals constantly offer opportunities to access new spaces and discover new things. This is the function of the Festival Headquarters of VIENNA DESIGN WEEK, whose location changes every year: They welcome the public and help them to find their way through the program. The fact that this central physical place now has a digital counterpart may well have been triggered by COVID-19, but this is far from being the only reason. The decision to create a setting that is specially designed for experiencing digital content came about much more as a result of the respective focuses of the festivals in 2018 (Virtual & Augmented Reality) and 2019 (Game Design).

Hence, together with a working group of experts and a wide range of external partners, VIENNA DESIGN WEEK created a virtual space that regards a digital presence not as an emergency solution but as an autonomous form of expression – an experiment full of immersive encounters, which visitors were able to experience on their own smartphones, computers, or VR glasses via the platform Mozilla Hubs, independent of their location. They could explore not only spaces specifically commissioned and curated by VIENNA DESIGN WEEK, but also spaces provided by partners and exhibitors. Thus, individual digital experiences were available to all those who, for a wide range of reasons, were unable to be personally present at this year’s festival. In addition to exhibitions and playful hubs, the virtual headquarters also enabled visitors to follow the festival talks live. But, as so often in our post-digital present, proximity and distance, online and offline, are not mutually exclusive but, rather, merge: On the first floor of the physical Festival Headquarters in the Amtshaus Theresienbadgasse in Meidling, an entire room was dedicated to the virtual headquarters. This room functioned as an analog portal into the virtual world – with VR glasses enabling visitors to hop directly over to the virtual headquarters, where their avatar could float around (or even fly!).

Take the virtual tour here CLICK or listen to the talk about the Virtual Festival Headquarters CLICK 

The Virtual Festival Headquarters were developed in cooperation with Wilhelm Scherübl (architect and artist), Martina Menegon (artist), and Eva Fischer and Angie Pohl (sound:frame, Area for Virtual Art).

Review: 2020

VIRTUELLE FESTIVALZENTRALE

Martina Menegon
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Phillip Podesser
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Stefanie Freynschlag
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Patrizia Gapp
VIENNA DESIGN WEEK/Kollektiv Fischka/Kramar

Die VIENNA DESIGN WEEK 2020 öffnete ein Portal in eine andere Welt!

In der Architektur bieten Portale stets Möglichkeiten, um Räume zu erschließen und Neues zu entdecken. Eine solche Funktion kommt auch der jährlich wechselnde Festivalzentrale der VIENNA DESIGN WEEK zu: Sie nimmt das Publikum in Empfang und führt es auf den richtigen Wegen durch das Programm. Diesem zentralen physischen Ort nun ein digitales Äquivalent zur Seite zu stellen, war COVID-19 vielleicht ein Anlass, keinesfalls aber alleiniger Grund. Vielmehr baute die Entscheidung, einen eigens für das Erleben digitaler Inhalte gemachten Rahmen zu schaffen, auf den einschlägigen Schwerpunkten der Jahre 2018 (Virtual & Augmented Reality) und 2019 (Game Design) auf.

Gemeinsam mit einer Arbeitsgruppe aus Expertinnen und Experten sowie einer ganzen Reihe an externen Partnerinnen und Partnern hat die VIENNA DESIGN WEEK also einen virtuellen Raum entwickelt, der das Digitale nicht als Notlösung, sondern als eigenständige Ausdrucksform sieht – ein Experiment voller immersiver Erlebnisse, das Besucherinnen und Besucher über die Plattform Mozilla Hubs und mittels eigener Smartphones, Computer oder VR-Brillen unabhängig von ihrem Standort erleben konnten. Zu entdecken gab es darin einerseits eigens von der VIENNA DESIGN WEEK beauftragte und kuratierte Räume aber auch solche, die von einzelnen Partner*innen und Aussteller*innen beigesteuert wurden. So waren individuelle digitale Experiences für all diejenigen möglich, die heuer aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht persönlich am Festival anwesend sein konnten. Neben Ausstellungen und spielerischen Hubs konnten in der virtuellen Zentrale auch Talks des Festivals live mitverfolgt werden. Nähe und Distanz, online und offline, schließen sich aber wie so oft in unserer postdigitalen Gegenwart nicht aus, sondern gehen fließend ineinander über: Im ersten Stock der physischen Festivalzentrale im Meidlinger Amtshaus Theresienbadgasse war ein ganzer Raum der virtuellen Zentrale gewidmet. Dieser fungierte als analoges Portal in die virtuelle Welt — mittels VR-Brille konnte man unmittelbar in die virtuelle Zentrale hüpfen und dort als Avatar weiter schweben (oder sogar fliegen!). 

Hier geht’s zum virtuellen Walk KLICK und zum Talk über die Virtuelle Festivalzentrale KLICK 

Die virtuelle Festivalzentrale wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Wilhelm Scherübl (Architekt und Künstler), Martina Menegon (Künstlerin) sowie Eva Fischer und Angie Pohl (sound:frame, Area for Virtual Art) entwickelt.